Why reporters should always turn on Signal’s disappearing messages

Martin Shelton

User Researcher

In the latest case in the Trump administration's crackdown on leaks, Natalie Edwards, a U.S. Treasury employee was arrested and charged with giving suspicious bank records involving Trump campaign associates Paul Manafort and Rick Gates to a news outlet.

In the legal complaint, the Justice Department cited word-for-word conversations she allegedly had with a reporter over an “encrypted messaging app.” The government claimed it got a hold of her phone, and with it, her encrypted messages with a reporter. Now she faces prison time.


It was the second leak case brought under the Trump administration where messages sent over an encrypted app led to an indictment, citing access to an alleged source’s phone. 

While encrypted messaging apps are a valuable part of the reporting toolkit, the messages are only as safe as our phones themselves. End-to-end encryption prevents remote eavesdropping, but anyone who can unlock the phone can read the unscrambled messages just fine. 

So imagine if investigators unlocked the phone, and there were no messages to be found. You can turn on this feature within Signal, an encrypted messaging application used by many journalists.

When you manually delete an individual message on Signal, you're only removing your message on your device, and messages may still be left over on your conversational partner's device. Instead, we should make messages automatically go away for everyone in the conversation, using Signal's "disappearing messages" feature.

Turn on disappearing messages

First, open up a conversation.

disappearing_messages_ios.png
disappearing_messages_android.png

iPhone users: Click on your conversational partner's name at the top of the screen to open the settings menu for this conversation. Click "Disappearing messages."

Android users: Click the settings (three-dot) icon in the top right corner. Click "Disappearing Messages."

Use the slider to set the amount of time you'd like to keep the messages, between five seconds to one week. 

You can turn on disappearing messages for conversations with one person, as well as group chats.

If you use Signal for desktop, consider turning it on there, too.
signal-desktop

Desktop users: Click the gear icon at the top right. Click "Disappearing messages."

Messages will be deleted for both you and your partner. You can turn off disappearing messages any time, or change your settings again from this menu.

Disappearing messages are an easy way to protect your most sensitive conversations, but don't wait until you need it. Consider using them as part of your routine to keep sources safer by default.


Photo by Bjorn Lindell. CC-BY-2.0

Read more about Security

First major study looks at how SecureDrop is used in newsrooms in North America

Today the Tow Center for Digital Journalism at Columbia Journalism School has published a first-of-its-kind study on how newsrooms are using SecureDrop, our open-source whistleblower submission system that is now ...

Publishing the unredacted SecureDrop 0.3.4 audit report

In July, we announced the release of SecureDrop 0.3.4 and published the accompanying security audit by iSEC partners (now NCC Group). The audit found 10 issues, one of ...

US officials have no problem leaking classified information about surveillance—as long as it fits their narrative

In the past few days there have been a flurry of stories about the Russian plane that crashed in the Sinai peninsula, which investigators reportedly think may have been caused ...